Front page · StressLogosEros model · Using the model

Cognition · Emotion · Body state · Interaction with the environment

Stress state · LogosStress state · LogosEros state · Eros state

Gender differences · Glossary · Proverbs

About StressAndEros · Links & literature · Forum · Site Map


StressLogosEros model

    1. Stress state      2. LogosStress state   3. LogosEros state   4. Eros state   



Body state

 Intense stress thoughts    Problem solving    Creative thoughts  Intense eros thoughts
 Intense stress emotions  Weaker stress emotions  Eros emotions  Intense Eros emotions
 Stress symptoms  Weaker stress symptoms  Relaxation & energy  Intense relaxation & energy

The model symbolises the four emotional states you can be in.
The thought patterns, feelings and body sensations (cognition, emotion and body state) are described for each of the four states.
The first two states involve strong and weak negative feelings = stress feelings.
The last two involve weak and strong positive feelings = eros feelings.
In the two middle states where the feelings are weaker the cognition is called logos, which means concept, sense, knowledge, wisdom.
Where the feelings are strong (the two outer states) cognition is emotionally-driven.
The model is dynamic. Imagine that the colours can be completely dark, through to completely light. The change in colour is described for each state. Blue is chosen as a symbol of logos (the intellect and coolness) and not as a symbol of an emotion (feeling blue). The arrows within each state show the interaction between cognition-emotion-body. The arrow pairs above each show the situation in the environment for each case (e.g. a stress factor) and your reaction to this. The states can be very brief or long-term. The model has been simplified for practical reasons: it has to be simple and useable. For example, transitions states could be included, and cognition-emotion-body are not separate (as the symbols suggest), but this is how we experience them, and the model is experience-based. The order of the four states has been chosen based on the fact that we need to move away from the negative state and towards the positive ones. It does not necessarily indicate the order for a change from one state to another (e.g. you can change from state 4 to state 1).

Using the Model